EU discusses non-recognition of Russian passports issued to Ukrainians in Donbas

Open source

The European Union keep discussing the implementation of a policy of non-recognition of Russian passports issued to Ukrainian citizens in the occupied part of Donbas.

Thus, the Lithuanian Ministry of Foreign Affairs said that Lithuanian diplomats are trying to ensure the Russian passports issued in a simplified manner to residents of eastern Ukraine will not be recognized in the EU countries.

“At the moment, we are actively working at the EU level on a coordinated response to ongoing violations of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine, including documents illegally issued by the Russian Federation to residents of Ukraine in the Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts temporarily occupied by Russia,” DELFI reports.

Lithuania confirmed these discussions after Estonia decided not to recognize Russian passports issued to residents of Donetsk and Luhansk oblasts from April 24, when Russian President Vladimir Putin approved a simplified procedure for granting citizenship to residents of these regions.

“During the discussions in Brussels, the EU member states, together with EU departments, are looking for ways to implement a technically coordinated and unified EU non-recognition policy of such passports,” the ministry said.

“EU member states, on the basis of a common approach and together, will not recognize these passports. In case EU fail to reach a common agreement, unilateral measures will be introduced,” the statement emphasizes.

As The Journalist reported, Estonia does not recognize Russia’s passports issued to Ukrainians in occupied Donbas.

Подписывайтесь на telegram-канал