EU finance ministers nominated Christine Lagarde for ECB head

photo from open sources

The finance ministers of 19 EU countries – members of the Eurozone officially nominated Christine Lagarde for the position of head of the European Central Bank (ECB).

The decision was made on July 9 in the EU Council in Brussels, as Deutsche Welle reports.

The further consultations are to be held at the European Parliament on the candidacy of Lagarde. A final decision on her appointment to office is expected in October this year at the summit of leaders of EU member states.

The current ECB chairman is Italian Mario Draghi. His powers expire on October 31 of the current year. The term of office of the head of the ECB is 8 years.

As reported by The Journalist, Eurozone to stop printing EUR 500 bank note.

Подписывайтесь на telegram-канал